About CFC

The California Film Commission (CFC) is one of several economic development departments within the Governor’s Office of Business and Economic Development working to attract, retain, and expand business opportunities in California. The CFC supports a production-friendly environment to retain and grow production jobs and economic activity statewide, enhancing California’s position as the leading location for all forms of media content creation nationally and globally.


To support the film, television, and commercial industries to retain, attract, and grow production-related jobs and the many ancillary businesses that benefit from increased production activity in California.


The California Film Commission was created in 1984 as a state agency to enhance California’s position as the premier location for all forms of media content creation. The CFC supports film, television, and commercial productions of all sizes and budgets by providing one-stop support services including location and troubleshooting assistance, permits for filming at state-owned facilities, and access to resources including an extensive digital location library. The CFC also administers the state’s Film & Television Tax Credit Program and serves as the primary liaison between the production community and all levels of government (including local, state, and federal jurisdictions) to facilitate filming in-state.

Our vast array of tools and resources will help you navigate all sorts of production issues, from work permits to on- set safety. Find links and contact info for relevant government agencies, industry associations, guilds and unions, production directories, entertainment job listings and more. Find useful charts for studio zones weather and college locations to name a few.

The CFC supports a production-friendly environment to retain/grow production jobs and economic activity statewide. It works in conjunction with just under 60 local film offices/commissions (Regional Film Partners) across California. More information is available here.

We look forward to helping you make your next project in California a success!

Advisory Board

The California Film Commission has an advisory board of up to 21 members appointed by the Governor, Senate Pro Tem and Speaker of the Assembly who work to enhance the economic climate in California by keeping film industry jobs and projects in the state.

Members of the Board

Thom Davis (Chair), 3rd International Vice President, Business Agent, IATSE Local 80

Wendy Greuel (Vice Chair), Consultant, Discovery Cube L.A.

Jaime Lee (Secretary), CEO, Jamison Realty Inc.

Benjamin Allen, Senator, CA State Senate

Toni Atkins, Senate President pro Tempore, CA State Senate

Arturo Barquet, Exec. V.P. & CFO of Global Production Operations, Universal Filmed Entertainment

Colin Blackshear, Independent Producer

Andrew Z. Davis, President of Production Administration, Sony Pictures Studios

Steve Dayan, Secretary – Treasurer, Local 399

Robert Gleason, President & CEO, Evans Hotels

Bonnie Goldfarb, Co-Founder/Exec. Producer, Harvest Films

Jennifer Gonring , CEO, Gonring, Spahn and Associates

Janice Hahn, Supervisor, Los Angeles County Board of Supervisors

Ali Jahangiri, Chief Executive Officer, Outclick Media

Janet Knutsen, Producer/Unit Production Manager, Directors Guild of America

Joshua LaFarga, Director of Public and Government Affairs, Laborers’ International Union of North America, Local 1309

Debra Langford, Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, USC Marshall School of Business

Adrin Nazarian, Assembly member, CA State Assembly

Kim B. Nguyen, Councilwoman, City of Garden Grove

Ricky Nierva, Art Director/Production Designer, Pixar Animation Studios

Brian Pendleton, President, Los Angeles Fire and Police Commission

Ex-Officio Members of the Board

Colleen Bell
Executive Director, California Film Commission

Mike Richwine
State Fire Marshal, California State Fire Marshal’s Office

Warren Stanley
Commissioner, California Highway Patrol

Lisa Mangat
Director, Department of Parks and Recreation

Laurie Berman
Director, Department of Transportation

Board Member Designees

Deputy Director, California Film Commission

Scott Silsbee
Assistant Commissioner, California Highway Patrol

Liz McGuirk
Chief Deputy Director, Department of Parks & Recreation

Ali F. Zaghari
Deputy District Director, Traffic Operations – Department of Transportation, District 7

California Film Commission
7080 Hollywood Blvd., Suite 900
Los Angeles, CA 90028
Tel: 323.860.2960 | 800.858.4749
Email the CFC | About Us

Stay Informed! Sign Up:
Production Alerts

Download the Cinemascout app!

cinemascout app icon

GO-Biz logo
vaccinate all 58