State Film Permits

State Permit & Monitor Fees (in U.S. Dollars)

California Film Commission
California Film Commission Permit Fee: Free
California Film Commission Rider Fee: Free
State Property Location Site Rental: Free
California Department of Transportation (Caltrans)
Review and Monitor/Inspection fees (2 hour minimum): $82.00 / hour
On-site inspection during filming (2 hour minimum*): $82.00 / hour
Weeknight and weekend monitor/inspection fees will be at time and a half.
*Complex activities may require an inspector to be on-site at all times during filming.
Application rider fee (1 hour minimum): $82.00
California Highway Patrol Officers may be required on-site for all Caltrans permits.
California Highway Patrol (CHP)
Type of monitor is determined by CHP Liaison (4 HOUR MINIMUM):
Sergeant $91.45 / hour Motorcycle Sergeant $111.35 / hour
Officer $88.47 / hour Motorcycle Officer $107.62 / hour
Mileage for Vehicle $0.76 / mile Mileage for Motorcycle $0.95 / mile
State Parks and Recreation
Review fee – simple productions (stills or motion) $65.00 / day*
Review fee – complex productions (stills or motion) $200.00/day*
Parks monitor hourly rates are “portal to portal” (generally add one hour of time; 6 HOUR MINIMUM)
Type of monitor is determined by State Parks.
Peace Officers/Ranger $79.00 Envir./Cultural Resources $74.00
Maintenance $56.00 Park Interpreters $55.00
Administration $46.00 Lifeguard (Seasonal) $39.00
Park Aide $29.00 Mileage for monitors $0.76 / mile
Vehicle parking and daily entrance fees are collected directly by the Park (not the CFC). Fees vary between $8.00 – $12.00 per vehicle or space.
CANCELLATION NOTICE: California State Parks charges all agreed upon monitor and review fees if the permit is cancelled with less than 24 hours notice.
Exposition Park / Science Center
Administration Fee $275.00 Security Lights (per night) $50.00
State Officer (per hr/officer) $50.00 Deposit 20%
Maintenance Recovery Fee – based on activities, locations and size of company $500.00 – $1,000.00
Parking Lot Rental rates are determined by the number of spaces and either (1) the daily parking rate $10.00 per space or (2) special event rate of $10.00 to $35.00 per space.
Fees are determined by the Office of Park Management and checks must be delivered directly to them.
State Buildings, Facilities, and Land Locations
Department of Water Resources – Monitor if required by department $78.00 / hour
(CHP could also be required depending on location)
Metropolitan State Hospital (Security Officer) $50.00 / hour
**Some Fees are not collected by the California Film Commission including but not limited to: State Parks daily entrance/parking fee that is collected per vehicle at the park entry. California Highway Patrol (CHP) has a coordinator who arranges Officers and collects CHP fees directly and supplies Officers for filming at State properties including State Capitol. California Science Center, Exposition Park and California African American Museum coordinate and collect fees on-site for their location agreement.
California Film Commission
7080 Hollywood Blvd., Suite 900
Hollywood, CA 90028
Tel: 323.860.2960 | 800.858.4749
Email the CFC | About Us

Stay Informed! Sign Up: Newsletters
Production Alerts
Careers

Follow Us!

California Film Commission
7080 Hollywood Blvd., Suite 900
Hollywood, CA 90028
Tel: 323.860.2960 | 800.858.4749
Email the CFC | About Us

Stay Informed! Sign Up:
Newsletters
Production Alerts

Careers

Follow Us!

California Film Commission
7080 Hollywood Blvd., Suite 900
Hollywood, CA 90028
Tel: 323.860.2960 | 800.858.4749
Email the CFC | About Us

Stay Informed! Sign Up:
Newsletters
Production Alerts
Careers

Follow Us!

© Copyright 2017 California Film Commission
AccessibilityConditions of Use DisclaimerPrivacy Policy Site Map

© Copyright 2017 California Film Commission