
State Permit & Monitor Fees (in U.S. Dollars) 
California Film Commission 

California Film Commission Permit Fee: Free 

California Film Commission Rider Fee: Free 

State Property Location Site Rental: Free 

California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) 

Review and Monitor/Inspection fees (2 hour minimum): $162.00 / hour 

On-site inspection during filming (2 hour minimum*): $162.00 / hour 

Weeknight and weekend monitor/inspection fees will be at time and a half. 

*Complex activities may require an inspector to be on-site at all times during filming.

Application revision fee (1 hour minimum): $162.00/hour 

Caltrans District 7 Headquarters Bldg. requires one 
Caltrans monitor per each 15 cast & crew members.   All 
monitors are at the discretion of Caltrans not applicant 

$162.00 / hour 

California Highway Patrol Officers may be required on-site for all Caltrans permits. 
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California Highway Patrol (CHP) 

Type of monitor is determined by CHP Liaison (4 HOUR MINIMUM): 

Sergeant $124.67 / hour Motorcycle Sergeant $129.62 / hour 

Officer $102.48 / hour Motorcycle Officer $106.55 / hour 

Mileage for Vehicle $1.41 / mile Mileage for Motorcycle $1.67 / mile 

State Parks and Recreation 

Review fee – simple productions (stills or motion)   $100.00 / day* 

Review fee – complex productions (stills or motion)   $250.00/day* 

Parks monitor hourly rates are “portal to portal” (generally add one hour of travel time; 6 HOUR MINIMUM) 

Type of monitor is determined by State Parks. 

Peace Officers/Ranger $105.00 Envir./Cultural Resources $95.00 

Maintenance $56.00 Park Interpreters $55.00 

Administration $48.00 Lifeguard (Seasonal) $39.00 

Park Aide $29.00 Mileage for monitors $0.76 / mile 

Vehicle parking and daily entrance fees are collected directly by the park (not the CFC). Fees vary between $8.00 – $18.00 per vehicle or space. 



CANCELLATION NOTICE: California State Parks charges all agreed upon monitor and review fees if the permit is cancelled with less than 24 hours’ 
notice. 

Exposition Park / Science Center 

Administration Fee $432.00 Security Lights (per night) $50.00 

State Officer (per hr/officer) $65.00 Deposit 25% 

Maintenance Recovery Fee – based on activities, locations and size of company $550.00 – $1,100.00 

Parking Lot Rental rates are determined by the number of spaces and either (1) the daily parking rate $15.00 per space or (2) special event rate of 
$15.00 to $40.00 per space. 

Fees are determined by the Office of Park Management and checks must be delivered directly to them. 

State Buildings, Facilities, and Land Locations 

Department of Water Resources – Monitor if required by department  $78.00 / hour 

(CHP could also be required depending on location) 

Metropolitan State Hospital (Security Officer)  $50.00 / hour 

**Some Fees are not collected by the California Film Commission including but not limited to: State Parks daily entrance/parking fee that is 
collected per vehicle at the park entry. California Highway Patrol (CHP) has a coordinator who arranges Officers and collects CHP fees directly and 
supplies Officers for filming at State properties including State Capitol. California Science Center, Exposition Park and California African American 
Museum coordinate and collect fees on-site for their location agreement. 

 
 
 
 



California Film Commission 
7080 Hollywood Blvd., Suite 900 

Hollywood, CA 90028Tel: 
323.860.2960 | 800.858.4749 


